Calculating rotations of wheels for turning

Discussion specific to projects ideas and support.
littletim979

Calculating rotations of wheels for turning

Post by littletim979 »

i'm doing a competition and want to make a program to start with (since my team has not met yet) our robot is going to have no sensors for driving (besides the rotation sensors) how do i calculate amount of rotations a wheel needs to go (for example a 90 degree turn) if i have the distance between the 2 wheels and the diameter of the wheels that will be driving. i understand how to do it for going straight but have always had to just guess the first number for turns. the more accurate the first number the easier it is to get it perfect. also i will be using RobotC 3.x with PID turned on.
My Blog: MindstormsPodcast.wordpress.com/
mattallen37

Re: Calculating rotations of wheels for turning

Post by mattallen37 »

First I need to say that I have never tried to figure it out before, and haven't tested my theories, but take a look at the following.

For the sake of this example, lets say that the wheels are 5cm dia, and 20cm apart.

You said you already know how to calculate linear travel, using something like 5cm*PI (equals about 15.71cm). You can then divide by 360 (the 1 degree resolution of the encoders) to see that each degree of wheel rotation produces about 0.04363cm of linear travel.

The turning diameter is the distance between the wheels. At 20cm, the durning circle circumfrence would be 20cm*PI, or about 62.83cm.

That means that you need a difference of 62.83cm of travel from the wheels to have the robot turn around once.

To calculate a specific wheel rotation based on 90 degrees of turn, make the difference of rotation between each wheels equal to ((20cm*PI)/(360degrees/90degrees))/(5cm*PI), or 1 rotation (360 degrees).

Again, I haven't tested any of this.
Matt
http://mattallen37.wordpress.com/

I'm all for gun control... that's why I use both hands when shooting ;)
littletim979