Firgelli Actuator Programming - Help

Discussion specific to NXT-G, NXC, NBC, RobotC, Lejos, and more.
eaeny

Firgelli Actuator Programming - Help

Post by eaeny »

Hi, I am pretty new to NXT. I am working on a project were I am using Firgelli L12 100mm actuators to move a series of panels.

I'm running into some problems and I'm not sure if I am doing something wrong or if it is a glitch with NXT-G or the block for the actuators. I know some of you use them so any help would be great. I am getting frustrated.

I am setting up simple loops to have the actuator extend a certain distance upon the pressing of a touch sensor and then retract that same distance with another push of the touch sensor. I just set it up as a Wait Touch Sensor followed by the Block for the actuator, another Wait Touch Sensor and another Acuator Block. All of this is inside a infinite loop.

I noticed a couple small problems such as the MM measurement is off on the actuator (if i tell it to extend 60 mm it may extend 64 or 66, but it stays pretty consistent so I can allot for that) and I cannot turn off "Wait for Completion" or the actuators don't run correctly at all. (but I can live with that if i really have to)

The real problem that I am facing is when I am testing the actuators they seem to run the loop correctly a certain amount of times then randomly will only retract 6mm or so instead of the full 60mm.
It would move from these points: 0mm to 60mm, 0, 60, 0, 60, 54
Then after only retracting that small amount it would go back to extending 60mm and retracting 60mm but the original axis/pivot point for the actuator is way off by then. It just wants to rip my piece apart by that point because it is extending further then it should.