NXT writing project

Discussion specific to projects ideas and support.
legofromkitu

NXT writing project

Post by legofromkitu »

Hi, how are you, I apologize if my English is a little obscure, but I hope you understand the thread. I'm a NXT beginner and I decided to make a college project with a Lego robot. The hardware is based on the Sudoku Solver project (I expect some of the forum people know the project, here is the sudoku's page: http://tiltedtwister.com/sudokusolver.html), but I only want it to write a determined english sentence, so I'm only interested in the writing proceeding. Well, as in the solver, the robot movements for writing a specific letter are done by calling it from a command string, for example "uudddddllrrrr" where u is up, d is down,etc. Despite I can write the letter I have had some problems:

- First I'm trying, without success, to obtain a precise rotation movement using the RotateMotorExPID, but I dont have so clear how to do it. What I'm doing is calling, with a for loop, the characters from the string one by one; so I call ,for example, an 'u' then I go to a task where I move the motor and see how much did it move with the MotorRotationCount , reset the tacho and uses these information in the RotateMotorExPID. But I don't really know how to calculate de PID constants, since I don't have the motor equation as a plant, and the robot has an unexpected response, similar to an oscillating system.

- Also, the robot doesn't write the phrase over a straight line, despite I program it to return to a reference point after writing every letter; do you have any idea how I could get this response?

- ¿Does exist any form, using Bricx, to move two motors simultaneously, with different angles and/or powers ?